top of page

Resolutions & Goals for Business

Now is the time to write down resolutions and set new goals. We all take time to do this in life, but do we take the time to do the same in business?

We should. It's important to step back and evaluate if you're meeting your own professional goals. Have you considered your aspirations?' How can you get more involved and give back in business?

I'd like to dedicate this Series (post 1 of 2) to two amazing Salesforce initiatives - RAD and WIT.

The primary goal of RAD Women is to provide a supportive and collaborative environment for women Salesforce developers to help other women administrators build upon their existing click-based administration skills and learn to program on the Force.com platform.

A pretty RAD program, don't you think? I've mastered declarative development and have been looking for any and all opportunities to begin working on programmatic development. The second round of classes are getting set to roll out this month and I will definintely be adding this to my list of goals for 2016. The program has a waitlist, so the sooner you get on it, the better!

The group began as a happy hour get-together for women attending Dreamforce and looking for others to hang out with. Six years later, the Women in Tech (formerly Girly Geeks) are a powerhouse network of female Salesforce intelligence.

Women share common challenges, but minority women also face unique challenges and stigmas. This group provides support, encouragement, mentoring, and opportunities to collaborate and network.

It is so wonderful to have other women to Geek Out with on all things Salesforce! WIT groups are expanding across the globe and it's so important to get the word out and encourage more women to get involved in technology and coding. I see more and more women each year at Dreamforce in the Dev Zone. I can't wait to see the progress at DF16!

I wanted to provide insight into these industry-changing programs and had the unique opportunity to speak with Kristi Guzman, a member of the inaugural RAD students, and Shonnah Hughes, co-leader of the WIT Diversity Group.

Kristi Guzman has been working with Salesforce tools for seven years and is a Salesforce Administrator for 3D Systems. She also runs the WIT Group in Charlotte. You can follow her journey on her blog, www.Kristiforce.com as well as on Twitter @KristiForce.

Shonnah Hughes has been working with Salesforce tools for seven years and is the Director of Customer Success & the Salesforce Analyst for Secure Bill Pay. She co-leads the Women in Tech Diversity Group and is a new RAD student. You can follow her journey on her blog, www.saasysistah.com as well as on Twitter @SaaSy_Sistah.

Do you feel that your involvement with RAD/WIT has helped you navigate and advance your career?

"YES - Not only has it planted the seeds for me about new skills, it has also introduced me to a wonderful network of women who are knowledgeable about or specialize in various areas who can guide and support me when I am ready to water those seeds." ~Kristi

"Yes, WIT has been a priceless compass leading me down paths of knowledge, friendship and volunteerism. I keep my compass tuned by trying to give back as much as I have been given. WIT Chapters are a necessity in any tech ecosystem to help balance the scales. I have just been accepted to the winter RAD session, so I will tell you the amazing journeys I have in a future blog post. I am sure it will be just as enriching and exciting!" ~Shonnah

How would you describe your Salesforce coding experience before and after RAD/WIT?

"Before RAD, I once wrote a VF page to solve a business problem by cobbling together code from various blog sites. After being in the inaugural RAD series, I am much more confident with concepts and feel more prepared to tackle learning code. I didn't graduate and start tackling new code projects on my own, but I built a great foundation to continue building upon myself." ~Kristi

"Lone admins are on an island. You feel isolated, not understanding your true value. So being involved with these groups will turn that island into a supercontinent with unlimited help, resources and support." ~Shonnah

How would you describe the RAD/WIT network to those not involved?

"In no other area of my life have I found a community of women so willing to help just because they can and they want to, without any thought to personal gain or payment or anything else. People I have never met in person offer to write triggers for me! I am continually amazed by and thankful for the kind & helpful nature of women engaged in this community." ~Kristi

"The most amazing and genuine women you will find. This is not a competition we are all here to help and support each other. Sharing our knowledge, success and failures so that each one might teach one. Do not be afraid to join one of these groups it will be one of the best decisions in your life!" ~Shonnah

Why should others get involved with RAD/WIT?

"It's almost a guarantee you can find another woman who has been through something similar to whatever challenges or questions you are facing in Salesforce, or they know someone else who has that can help you. Plus there's only so much your spouse/dog/co-workers/friends want to hear about it before they get bored, but we can talk about it all day long!" ~Kristi

"Ah, Hem.. because we are AWESOME! No seriously, being involved with these groups will take you personally and professionally to the next level and beyond." ~Shonnah

What past or upcoming RAD/WIT activities are you most excited to share with everyone?

While our core focus which brought us together is Salesforce, we've also discovered a joint love of crafting! I'm excited to have some WIT Craft nights to be creative in other ways with the Salesforce women in my life. Lookout Dreamforce, we are going to have some AWESOME custom T-Shirts!" ~Kristi

"I Co-Lead a new WIT group called Women In Tech Diversity. This group was created because as women we share common challenges, but as minority women we also face unique challenges and stigmas. This group will provide support, encouragement, mentoring, and opportunities to collaborate and network. We meet virtually the first Tuesday of each month. Additionally, I will be in the RAD winter session and hope that I learn enough to be a mentor for the next round of women. When SFDC recognized WIT chapters as official groups and dedicated parts of Dreamforce to the cause, that was big. However, I am truly excited to shine a light on racial inequality as well." ~Shonnah

Thank you to Kristi and Shonnah for sharing their stories, experience and programs with the Salesforce Community. Part 2 in this series will cover the amazing women working on promoting and growing these programs!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Kelly Bentubo Salesforce Geeking Out
bottom of page